The Tale of the Wish Fish

As I walked one sunny day
Beside the river, by the way
Mine eyes did catch upon a shimmer:
A sparkling 50 pence in the river

So in I waded to the middle
Though why I did presents a riddle
For I should remember I cannot swim
And so began to sink within

But along you came by the river walking
Becoming alerted to my squawking
The seconds to react barely counted three
You threw the nearby lifebuoy to me

I caught hold and slipped inside
Feeling some damage to my pride
For your reward I reached once stabled
And caught the gold creature believed to be fabled

“Now take hold of mine Wish Fish
And make thou thy Wish”

[A silly poetic version of a story I decided was true when walking one evening with my girlfriend].

Leave a Reply

